SA skipper Dane van Niekerk dominated out of Women’s World Cup | Cricket News – Times of India

Spread the love

JOHANNESBURG (South Africa): Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Thursday named a squad of 21 gamers for a coaching camp because the workforce steps up preparations for the go to of the West Indies for a four-match Women’s ODI sequence in Johannesburg between January 28- February 6.
South African captain, Dane van Niekerk has sustained a left ankle fracture within the final week, ruling her out for at least three months and might be unavailable for the coaching camp, West Indies tour and the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup hosted in New Zealand from March 4.

The prolonged group will enter a bio-secure setting (BSE) on Friday, the place they’ll start an in depth programme earlier than an adjusted squad that can tackle the Caribbean facet is confirmed previous to the 50-over sequence.
On the van Niekerk damage, Proteas Team Doctor, Tshegofatso Gaetsewe in an official launch mentioned: “The injury is a result of an accidental slip on a wet surface at home. As things stand, she doesn’t require surgery but will be monitored closely. It’s a stable fracture with minimal displacement and her recovery timeline is no less than 12 weeks.”
Despite the absence of the captain, the workforce ranked second within the ODI format have chosen a formidable squad that includes stalwarts Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka and ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year nominee, Lizelle Lee.
The listing additionally consists of uncapped Western Province batter, Delmari Tucker, whereas Raisibe Ntozakhe receives one other alternative to impress in pursuit of a primary cap since 2018, with the likes of all-rounders, Chloe Tryon and Sune Luus, in addition to seamer Masabata Klaas and wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty additionally within the combine.
Following the 10-day camp, the Proteas will tackle their West Indies counterparts in an unofficial warm-up match, earlier than enjoying 4 ODIs on the Wanderers Stadium.
Proteas Training Camp Squad: Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Delmari Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top