Ashwin amongst 4 nominees for ICC Test Cricketer of the yr award | Cricket News – Times of India

Spread the love

DUBAI: Seasoned India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was on Tuesday shortlisted as one of many 4 nominees for the ICC Test Cricketer of the yr award.
The 35-year-old from Chennai snapped 52 wickets from eight Tests at a median of 16.23 and likewise contributed 337 runs with the bat at 28.08 with one century within the final one yr.
Besides Ashwin, England skipper Joe Root, New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson and Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne had been the others to be nominated for the celebrated award, which recognise the excellent achievements and feats in cricket over the previous yr.
The winner of the award shall be introduced on January 24.

“One of India’s greatest match-winners in the longest format, R Ashwin again asserted his authority as one of the world’s finest spinners in 2021. Apart from his wizardry with the ball, Ashwin also made invaluable contributions with the bat,” the ICC mentioned in a launch.
Ashwin began the yr on a excessive, scoring a affected person 128-ball 29 in opposition to Australia within the Sydney Test. His partnership with Hanuma Vihari helped India obtain a memorable draw that stored the sequence degree at 1-1.
At house in opposition to England, Ashwin was adjudged the Player of the Series after he claimed 32 wickets from 4 matches at 14.72, whereas additionally contributing 189 runs with the bat.
The off-spinner had additionally picked up 4 wickets within the ICC World Test Championship Final in opposition to New Zealand on a seam-friendly wicket in Southampton.
After sitting out of all 4 Tests in England, Ashwin shone brilliant within the house sequence in opposition to New Zealand, successful one other Player of the Series award after choosing up 14 wickets in two matches at 11.36 whereas additionally chipping in with a few useful knocks within the Kanpur Test.
The ICC Awards will comprise a complete of 13 particular person recognitions in all, in addition to 5 Team of the Year bulletins for every format throughout each males’s and girls’s cricket.
The different particular person classes embrace Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for males’s Cricketer of the Year, Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for Women’s Cricketer of the Year, males’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, ladies’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, males’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, ladies’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, Emerging males’s Cricketer of the Year, Emerging ladies’s Cricketer of the Year, Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year, ladies’s Associate Cricketer of the Year, Spirit of Cricket Award and Umpire of the Year.
“The nominees for each of the first seven categories will be announced from 28 December to 31 December,” ICC mentioned.
“Each of those seven categories will have a shortlist of four nominees, comprising players who have had the most impactful performances in the period under consideration — January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021.
“The nominees shall be determined by the Awards panel, comprising distinguished cricket journalists and broadcasters from throughout the globe together with Geoff Allardice, the ICC’s CEO.”
The apex body said that “the winners for every class shall be introduced in January”, while “the official ICC Teams of the Year are set to be introduced on 17 and 18 January.”
“The particular person awards pertaining to ladies’s cricket shall be introduced on 23 January. The males’s awards, in addition to the Spirit of Cricket and Umpire of the Year award, shall be introduced on 24 January,” it further stated.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top